AMA Innovation Award for Energy Autonomous Absolute Encoder

AMA Association awards trend-setting development in sensor technology 

Nuremberg/Berlin, May 2012—The AMA Association for Sensor Technology (AMA) presented this year’s AMA Innovation Award to the winner of the contest at the SENSOR+TEST trade fair in Nuremberg on 22 May. The 10,000-euro award went to the “Highly integrated Hall sensor ASIC for energy-autonomous absolute encoders.”

The joint development by Dr. Steffen Klupsch, Ralf Burkard, and Dr. Heiner Flocke (IC-Haus GmbH, Bodenheim) as well as Dr. Thomas Theil (Mehnert & Theil Erfindergemeinschaft, Feldafing) convinced the jury with the energy-autonomous application of a highly-integrated Hall sensor ASIC. From the rotary motion, the sensor is able to derive the energy required for the multiturn sensor signal as well as for counting and storing of the measuring signal.

Absolute encoders are already being used in many technical applications, such as machine and plant engineering, automotives, and automation technology. Until now they needed a power supply or a high-maintenance buffer battery. In many automotive engineering applications this is not permissible for safety reasons, and thus more vulnerable mechanical solutions had to be implemented. The award-winning solution sets new standards.

“With 75 submissions from all over the globe this year we had a record number of top-notch developments vying for the AMA Innovation Award. This scientifically convincing solution and the high practical utility of the Hall sensor for users clearly stood out from all the other submissions,” said jury chairman Prof. Dr. Andreas Schütze from Saarland University about this year’s selection. 

The AMA Innovation Award, bestowed every year by the AMA Association for Sensor Technology, is among the most coveted prizes in sensor and measuring technology. A brief description of all submissions contending for the AMA Innovation Award 2012 was published by the Association in a brochure.

The 10,000-euro Innovation Award is bestowed directly to the developer team, not the enterprise or institute. The main criteria for the jury, comprising representatives of universities, research facilities, and enterprises, is the degree of innovation and high usability.