AMA Innovation Award 2017: Five Teams Nominated

The AMA Innovation Award is among the most renown prizes in sensor and measuring technology and is to be presented for the 17th time. This year, 41 research and development teams from Germany and abroad submitted their projects for the 10,000-eur award. Startups, active for five years, with less than 50 employees, and annual revenues under 10 million euros, were able to compete for the special “Young Enterprise” award. The winning team receives a trade-fair presence at the SENSOR+TEST 2017 in Nuremberg, Germany, free of charge.


This year the special award was bestowed on Jens Karsten Lange’s team from SLT Sensor- und Lasertechnik GmbH in Wildau, Germany, and representatives of the PTB, Germany’s National Metrology Institute in Berlin. The team jointly developed detectors for absolute power measurement in the terahertz spectral range. It saw its major challenge in the fact that until recently there were no calibrated detectors for the evaluation the THz power of time-domain spectroscopy (TDS) systems made by different manufacturers. Three characteristic quantities were not available: broad-band, extended area, and high sensitivity. The sensors developed in the submission meet these requirements and are now to be sold by SLT including an individual calibration certificate from the PTB.


“As members of the jury from research and industry, we are positively surprised by the high quality of the outstanding submissions every year out of which we nominate five teams for the AMA Innovation Award. This year’s projects prove just how sensor and measurement technology point the way ahead,” said Andreas Schütze, the jury chair from the Saarland University. “We are glad indeed to be able to bestow the Young Enterprise award among the five nominees. Jens Karsten Lange and his team from SLT and the PTB are invited to present free of charge their detectors for absolute power measurement in the terahertz spectral range at the SENSOR+TEST from 30 May to 1 June 2017.” 


Nominated for the AMA Innovation Award 2017 (in alphabetical order) are:


BactiSense: Thermal identification of bacteria and viability testing

Dr. Bart van Grinsven, Prof. Dr. Thomas Cleij (University Maastricht), Dr. Kasper Eersels, Prof. Dr. Patrick Wagner (KU Leuven) / brochure p. 6


Detectors for absolute power measurement in the terahertz spectral range

Dr. Werner Bohmeyer, Achim Mans, Jens Karsten Lange (SLT, Wildau) und Dr. Andreas Steiger, Dr. Ralf Müller (PTB, Berlin) / brochure p. 6


Flame ionization detector with an internal gas supply as a field instrument

Dr. Winfred Kuipers, Dr. Jan Förster, Dr. Christian Koch (Krohne Innovation GmbH, Duisburg), Dr. Steffen Ziesche, Christian Lenz (Fraunhofer IKTS, Dresden) / brochure p. 7


Magnetic-inductive force sensor

Dr. Phillip Coerlin, Dr. Tobias Kitzler, Dr. Tobias Senkbeil, Anatol Schwersenz, Christian Leiser, Sebastian Schwiertz, Steffen Witzemann (Trafag GmbH, Unterensingen) und Lutz May (Torque And More GmbH, Starnberg) / brochure p. 7


Radio-frequency diesel and gasoline particulate filter sensor

Dr. Alexander Sappok, Dr. Paul Ragaller (CTS Corporation, Malden, USA), Dr. Leslie Bromberg (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) / brochure p. 8


The winners of the AMA Innovation Award 2017 will be made known at the opening ceremony of the SENSOR+TEST 2017 trade fair in Nuremberg on 30 May 2017.


An overview of all projects submitted for the AMA Innovation Award 2017 you will find in the Brochure AMA Innovation Award 2017

Calling for Innovations in Sensor and Measuring Technology

AMA Innovation Award 2017


The AMA Association for Sensors and Measurement (AMA) called for submissions to the AMA Innovation Award 2017. Developer and research teams were asked to compete with innovative research and development projects in the area of sensor and measuring technology. The deadline for submissions was 24 January 2017.


The AMA Innovation Award is endowed with 10,000 euros for the developers themselves, not their institutes or enterprises. Individuals or developer teams may participate with projects that have clear market relevance. The AMA Association also provides the special Young Enterprise Award endowed with a trade-fair stand at the SENSOR+TEST 2017 free of charge. 


The renowned AMA Innovation Award has been presented for 17 years to innovative developers in sensors and measurement. The jury comprises representatives from universities, institutes, and enterprises. The jury members especially consider novel approaches, the general scientific achievement, as well as the project’s chances on the market.

“We are elated every year to find such a plethora of ideas for solutions to the challenges of the future by applying the latest technology,” says jury chair Professor Andreas Schütze from the Saarland University. “Besides the submissions of established enterprises, the many interesting projects from young enterprises must also be mentioned. These submissions compete in the special category Young Enterprises. The winner in this category is invited to present the project at the AMA’s trade fair SENSOR+TEST.”


The deadline for submissions was 24 January 2017. The nominations and winner of the special award will be made known at the AMA Press Conference on 9 March 2017. The winners of the AMA Innovation Award 2017 will be presented at the opening ceremony of the SENSOR+TEST on 30 May 2017 in Nuremberg.